Agape, and its verb form agapao, is one of several Greek words for love. Agape love is a little different. It is not a feeling; it’s a motivation for action that we are free to choose and reject. Agape is a sacrificial love that voluntarily suffers inconvenience, discomfort, and even death from the benefit of another without expecting anything in return.

In their sophomore year, the Moreau student is given the opportunity to expand their awareness of the world through an intense community experience in a day retreat. Due to COVID-19 restrictions and safety precautions, the retreat will be held on campus. The retreat begins with self-examination, then transitions into a look at our community, ending with a look at each student’s commitment to build the Kingdom of God. The day involves self-examination, group discussion, and sharing of their own experiences.

Students: You will be attending the sophomore retreat with your Moral Theology class. Please see the date below to find out when you will be attending. Parental consent will be needed to attend this mandatory retreat. Parental consent will be granted through the Appryse system.

Sophomore Retreat Schedule

Tuesday, October 13: Sophomore Retreat #1a, Friday, October 16th: Soph #1b

Tuesday, October 20: Sophomore Retreat #2a, Thursday, October 22: Soph #2b

Friday, November 6: Sophomore Retreat #3a, Wednesday, November 11: Soph 3b

Friday, November 13: Sophomore Retreat #4a, Tuesday, November 17: Soph #4b

Thursday, January 28: Sophomore Retreat #5a

Wednesday, February 3: Sophomore Retreat #6a

Friday, February 12: Sophomore Retreat #7a

Friday, February 19: Sophomore Retreat #8a